MPE2013 in Bowdoin, USA

Event

MPE2013 in Bowdoin, USA
3 Apr. 2013 bis 1 Jun. 2013

Tuesday to Saturday: 10 am – 5 pm

Sunday: 1 pm – 5 pm

closed on Mondays and public holidays

Focus Gallery|Bowdoin College Museum of Art|9400 College Station|Brunswick|ME|04011|US

Erstellt von

Autoren

Organized by Collin Roesler, chair, Earth and Oceanographic Science; Emily Peterman, assistant professor, Earth and Oceanographic Science; and Mary Lou Zeeman, R. Wells Johnson Professor of Mathematics.
Organizer

Die interaktiven Module der MPE2013-Ausstellung sind Teil der Veranstaltung „Sense of Scale, Measure by Color: Art, Science, and Mathematics of Planet Earth“ in Bowdoin, USA. Diese Ausstellung feiert die sichtbare Pracht der Natur mit besonderem Blick darauf, wie Wissenschaftler und Mathematiker Farbe und Größenverhältnisse nutzen, um geologische un ozeonographische Prozesse zu interpretieren.

Diese Ausstellung ist eines von mehreren Programmen in Zusammenhang mit Bowdoins Beteiligung am internationalen MPE2013-Programm.

 

Zur Schau gestellt wird eine schillernde Vielfalt von Objekten aus der historischen Kristall- und Mineraliensammlung von Bowdoin College, ebenso wie Photographien von farbstrahlenden mikrodünnen Gesteinsscheiben. Die Muster und Formen dieser Gesteine geben Hinweise darauf, wie sich Gebirgsketten formiert haben. Die Ausstellung bietet auch suggestive Photographien aus arktischen und antarktischen Regionen, die von Mitgliedern des Bowdoin College aufgenommen wurden, und die die Zyklen der Bildung von Meereis erkennen lassen. Besucherinnen und Besucher können auch mit virtuellen Modulen des „Mathematics of Planet Earth“-Ausstellungswettbewerbs interagieren.

Dateien

MPE2013 in Bowdoin, USA

event

MPE2013 in Bowdoin, USA
Apr. 3, 2013 to Jun. 1, 2013

Tuesday to Saturday: 10 am – 5 pm

Sunday: 1 pm – 5 pm

closed on Mondays and public holidays

Focus Gallery|Bowdoin College Museum of Art|9400 College Station|Brunswick|ME|04011|US

Submitted by

Credits

Organized by Collin Roesler, chair, Earth and Oceanographic Science; Emily Peterman, assistant professor, Earth and Oceanographic Science; and Mary Lou Zeeman, R. Wells Johnson Professor of Mathematics.
Organizer

The interactive modules of the MPE2013 exhibition are part of the event “Sense of Scale, Measure by Color: Art, Science, and Mathematics of Planet Earth” in Bowdoin, USA. This exhibition celebrates visual splendors of the natural world, focusing on how earth scientists and mathematicians use color and scale to measure and interpret geological and oceanographic processes.

This exhibition is one of several programs related to Bowdoin’s participation in the International MPE2013 program.

On view is a dazzling array of samples from Bowdoin College’s historic crystal and mineral collection alongside photographs of brilliantly colored micro-thin mineral slices. The patterns and colors that appear in these minerals offer clues as to how mountain ranges formed over time. The exhibition also features evocative photographs from Arctic and Antarctic regions, taken by Bowdoin faculty and their colleagues, and which reveal cyclical processes of sea ice formation. Visitors can also interact with virtual modules from the Mathematics of Planet Earth exhibition competition.

Files

All events

Dec. 5, 2018 to Dec. 8, 2018
Oct. 29, 2018 to Nov. 1, 2018
Oct. 29, 2018 to Oct. 31, 2018
Oct. 17, 2018 to Oct. 18, 2018
Sep. 24, 2018 to Sep. 28, 2018
Sep. 20, 2018 to Dec. 28, 2018
Sep. 17, 2018 to Sep. 24, 2018
Jul. 31, 2018 to Aug. 8, 2018
Jul. 30, 2018 to Aug. 6, 2018
Jul. 25, 2018 to Jul. 29, 2018
Jun. 7, 2018 to Jun. 9, 2018
Jun. 7, 2018 to Jun. 9, 2018
Jun. 4, 2018 to Jun. 30, 2018