New MPE-Exhibits

projet

New MPE-Exhibits

Statut

Ouvert

Comment participer ?

Créez un compte d’usager et télécharger votre module sur notre plateforme. Puis envoyez-nous un courriel à mpe@imaginary.org.

Plus d’information à gauche.

Invitation à la nouvelle compétition internationale MPT !
Date limite : 30 juin 2017

Participez à la nouvelle compétition internationale Mathématiques de la planète Terre (MPT) d’éléments de musées (modules)  et soumettez votre module ! Les meilleurs modules enrichiront l’exposition Mathématiques de la planète Terre libre de droit, et votre module pourra se mériter un des prix. Il y a un prix spécial pour un module africain !

Introduction

L’humain a toujours été curieux de connaitre et explorer la planète, de comprendre ses écosystèmes et sa biodiversité, de l’organiser et de l’exploiter. Récemment, le constat s’est imposé que la planète est en danger à cause des changements globaux. 

Mathématiques de la planète Terre (MPT) est une initiative conjointe d’organisations oeuvrant en sciences mathématiques de par le monde, dont le but est de mettre en évidence le rôle des mathématiques pour aborder les multiples problèmes de ce monde. Une première compétition internationale organisée par MPT a conduit à la création de l’Exposition Mathématiques de la planète Terre libre de droit, qui est composée de modules soumis par la communauté. Elle a été inaugurée à l’UNESCO à Paris le 5 mars 2013.

Compétition

La compétition internationale a été lancée à l’occasion du l’occasion du  Next Einstein Forum (NEF) Global Gathering par IMAGINARY, UNESCO, l’union mathématique internationale (UMI), et  la commission internationale de l’enseignement mathématique (CIEM) pour enrichir l’Exposition Mathématiques de la planète Terre. Entre autres, cette compétition a pour but de présenter des défis africains et régionaux autour du thème de MPT.

Prix 

Premier prix : 5 000 USD

Deuxième prix : 2 000 USD

Troisième prix : 1 000 USD

 

Prix spécial pour une problématique africaine :  2 000 USD

 

Les thèmes

 Voici quelques thèmes proposés pour stimuler l’imagination :

  1. Une planète à connaître : océans; météo et climats; manteau terrestre; ressources naturelles; système planétaire
  2. La planète Terre, un milieu de vie : écologie; biodiversité
  3. Une planète organisée par l’homme : systèmes politiques, économiques, sociaux et financiers; organisations des réseaux de transport et de communication; gestion des ressources; énergie
  4. Une planète menacée : changements climatiques; développement durable; épidémies et espèces invasives; désastres naturels

Types de modules

Les modules soumis à cette compétition peuvent être d’une des quatre formes suivantes :

  • Programme : un support interactif (programme) pouvant être utilisé soit sur la Toile, soit dans un musée
  • Manipulation :  un module expliquant comment réaliser un module physique dans un musée
  • Film : un court vidéo
  • Une ou des images accompagnée(s) de la description mathématique

Se référer à l’Exposition Mathématiques de la planète Terre pour des exemples de modules.

 

Comment participer

 

Les participants peuvent être des individus, des groupes d’individus, des écoles ou des organismes sans but lucratif. Des modules produits par des organismes à but lucratif ne peuvent être considérés lors de la compétition, mais ils peuvent être ajoutés libres de droit à l’exposition.

Les licences sous lesquels les modules sont soumis doivent être Creative Commons (BY-NC-SA, BY-NC-ND, ou l’équivalent) pour les images, films, bleus, etc.,  ou  des licences logiciel libres de droit (GPL, Apache, MIT, etc.) pour les programmes.

 

Conseils techniques

Lorsque vous avez une idée de module, commencez rapidement à la développer et à concevoir un prototype. Voici quelques conseils pour vous aider à prévenir des problèmes ultérieurs : 

  • Si vous développez un programme, pensez aux futurs utilisateurs dans le choix de la technologie ou du langage. Idéalement votre programme doit être flexible (multi-plateforme, utilisant des répertoires standard (libraries), avec interface utilisateur facile à adapter, etc.) Rappelez-vous qu’il sera utilisé sous licence libre de droit.
  • Si vous développez un module à manipuler, vous devez préparer des instructions détaillées sur comment le reproduire (documentation technique), ainsi que des panneaux explicatifs ou de la documentation pour une exposition. Des descriptions d’activités didactiques reliées au module sont bienvenues. Prenez des notes ou des photos pendant le processus de conception pour vous faciliter cette écriture quand le module est terminé
  • Quel que soit le type de module que vous soumettez, vous devez inclure un document explicatif. Celui-ci doit décrire votre module, les mathématiques sous-jacentes, la manière dont les visiteurs vont l’utiliser et d’éventuelles activités reliées, une section didactique, une brève introduction des auteurs, la licence choisie, et toute autre section que vous jugez pertinente.
  • Vous pouvez choisir la langue de votre module. Une version anglaise est recommandée, mais non obligatoire, et il est apprécié si le module peut être adapté en plusieurs langues dans le futur. Si vous concevez votre module dans cet esprit, IMAGINARY pourra ajouter des traductions, permettant ainsi la diffusion de votre module dans de plus nombreux pays. Ceci est particulièrement important pour les logiciels et les films (bandes sonores, sous-titre, textes sur écran, etc.).

 

Soumettre votre module

Une fois que votre prototype fonctionne, vous devez créer un compte d’usager sur la plateforme d’IMAGINARY. De là vous pouvez télécharger votre matériel, mais il ne sera public que quand vous aurez sélectionné « Publish ». Une fois votre matériel téléchargé, envoyez-nous un courriel à mpe@imaginary.org nous signifiant que votre module est soumis. Si nous notons un problème avec votre module avant la date limite, nous vous contacterons avec des suggestions. Vous pourrez améliorer votre module jusqu’à la date limite.

 

Nous vous recommandons fortement de produire un petit vidéo dans lequel vous expliquez votre module. Un tel vidéo permettra au jury et au public de bien saisir votre intention dans sa conception . Il n’a pas besoin d’être sophistiqué: avec votre téléphone vous pouvez tout simplement vous filmer devant votre module en train de l’expliquer (en anglais si possible). Le vidéo ne doit pas durer plus de 5 minutes. Il doit présenter les principales caractéristiques de votre module ainsi que les instructions de base pour l’utiliser. Vous pouvez télécharger votre vidéo sur YouTube ou Vimeo et mettre un lien sur la page de contenu de la plateforme d’IMAGINARY

 

Jury de la compétition

Passé la date limite, les modules soumis seront rendus public. Un jury international indépendant attribuera les prix et sélectionnera les modules qui enrichiront l’Exposition Mathématiques de la planète Terre.

 

Les modules gagnants de la première compétition 

 

 

La sphère de la Terre par Daniel Ramos

Ce module interactif explore les mathématiques de la cartographie et la géométrie de la sphère. 

 

Nuage de cendres par Prof. Dr. D. Kröner et son équipe à l’université de Freiburg

Ce module présente une simulation interactive d’une éruption volcanique en Europe.

 

 

 

Le futur des glaciers par Guillaume Jouvet, Chantal Landry et Antonia Mey

Ce vidéo explique comment simuler l’évolution future des glaciers selon différents scénarios.

 

 

Quelques-unes des plus grandes expositions MPT

New MPE-Exhibits

project

New MPE-Exhibits

Status

Open

How to participate

Create a user and upload your exhibit to the platform. Send us an email to mpe@imaginary.org

More information below on the left.

Enter the international MPE competition!
Deadline: June 30, 2017

Submit your exhibition modules to participate in the new competition for Mathematics of Planet Earth (MPE). The best modules will be awarded and will be featured in the already successful MPE exhibition. There will be a special prize for Africa-related exhibits.

Background

Humankind has been curious about planet earth from its infancy and has used mathematics to understand the planet’s ecosystem and to organize civilisation in an analytical way. Recently, it has become apparent to us that our planet is in danger due to global changes. To raise awareness of these changes an open and free exhibition with a worldwide scope has been devised by an international community of mathematicians and scientists. The modules of the “Mathematics of Planet Earth” Open Source exhibition can be reproduced and adapted by science museums and schools around the world.

 

Mathematics of Planet Earth (MPE) is an initiative of mathematical science organizations from around the world designed to showcase the ways in which the mathematical sciences can be useful in tackling our world’s problems. The exhibition “Mathematics of Planet Earth” consists of modules submitted by the community. It started with a competition in 2012, the winning modules from that competition were presented at the official opening event of the first MPE exhibition in Paris in March 2013.

Competition and Organizers 

At the Next Einstein Forum (NEF) Global Gathering in March of 2016, it was announced that IMAGINARY, UNESCO, the International Mathematical Union (IMU), and the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI) would open this second international competition of new exhibit modules to enrich the MPE exhibition. This competition aims to address the challenges in Africa, as well as in other regions of the world.

 

Prizes 

1st prize:   5,000 USD

2nd prize:  2,000 USD

3rd prize:   1,000 USD

 

Special prize for African topic:   2,000 USD

Themes 

To stimulate imagination on the many domains where mathematics plays a crucial role in planetary issues the following (non- exhaustive) four themes are proposed:

 

I. A planet to discover: oceans, meteorology and climate, mantle processes, natural resources, celestial mechanics…

II. A planet supporting life: ecology, biodiversity, evolution…

III. A planet organized by humans: political, economic, social and financial systems, organization of transport and communications networks, management of resources, energy…

IV. A planet at risk: climate change, sustainable development, epidemics, invasive species, natural disasters, risk analysis…

 

Types of museum-exhibits (modules)

Modules submitted to this competition can be of one of the following four forms: 

  • Program. An interactive software exhibit to be used either on the web or in a museum.
  • Hands-on. A module explaining how to realize a physical exhibit in a museum.
  • Film. A short video that can be shown in an exhibition.
  • Image gallery. A collection of images accompanied by a mathematical description.

 

Some examples of the type of modules we are seeking can be found on the MPE exhibition page. Additional ideas for new modules can be found in the document 31 ideas of modules for MPE2013 by Christiane Rousseau.

 

How to participate

 

Participants can be individuals or groups of individuals, institutions, schools or nonprofit organizations. Contributions developed by profit organizations can be shared with us to be included in the open source exhibition, but will not participate at the competition.

The licenses used for the submitted modules must be Creative Commons (BY-NC-SA, BY-NC-ND, or similar) for images, films, blueprints… or Free/Open Source software licenses (GPL, Apache, MIT…) for programs.

 

Technical Advice

Once you have an idea for an exhibit, start developing it and make early prototypes. Pay early attention to a few technical/formal aspects of your module to avoid later problems:

 

  • If you are developing a software program, which technology/language is more appropiate (to you and to the future users)? The more flexibility on the program (multi-platform, use of standard libraries, adaptable user interface, etc), the more likely is that it can be used on an exhibition and by the public. Recall that you will need to release it under an open license.
  • If you are developing a physical exhibit, you need to prepare detailed instructions to reproduce it (technical documentation) as well as the panels, descriptions and/or didactic activities to be used on an exhibition (exhibition documentation). Document all the process of creation (notes, photographs) so that it is easier to you to write it down when it is finished.
  • Regardless of the type of module, you must always include in your submission a Documentation text. This document should describe your module, the background mathematics, the possible interaction/activities with the visitors, a didactics section, the author and licensing information, and any other section you consider relevant.
  • You are free to choose the language of your exhibit (at least English is recommended, but not mandatory), but it will be very appreciated the possibility to add new languages in a future. If you design your exhibit with this in mind, we will be able to add translations to spread your exhibit into more countries. This is especially important for software and films (soundtrack, subtitles, on-screen texts…).

 

Submit your Module

Once you have a working prototype, and before the deadline, you need to create a User in the imaginary.org platform. From there, you can upload your material to IMAGINARY, but it will not be public until you select Publish. Once your material is on IMAGINARY, send us an email to mpe@imaginary.org to let us know that your submission is ready. If we spot a major flaw or a needed improvement in your submission and there is still time, we will contact you with our suggestions. You can edit and improve your submission until the deadline.

 

We strongly recommend to create a short video in which you explain your exhibit. It will be very helpful for the jury as well as the audience to understand your exhibit in the way you intended it. It can be a simple screen grab for a software exhibit or a cellphone video of you standing in front of your physical exhibit explaining it (in English). The video should not be longer than 5 minutes, explaining only the key features and basic guidelines for using your module. You can upload it to youtube or vimeo and integrate a link into the content page at the IMAGINARY platform.

 

The Jury

Once the deadline is passed, the submissions will be made public and an independent international jury will evaluate the candidates to award the prizes. Winners and selected modules will be part of the new MPE exhibition.

The jury will be:

  • Mireille Chaleyat-Maurel, Emeritus Professor University Paris Descartes, Paris, France
  • Eduardo Colli, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Mama Foupouagnigni, Professor of Mathematics, University of Yaounde I, Cameroon Center President, AIMS Cameroon
  • Ansie Harding, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Hans G. Kaper, Georgetown University, Washington, DC, and Founding Chair, SIAM Activity Group on Mathematics of Planet Earth, USA
  • Sreekar Vadlamani, TIFR Centre for Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore, India

 

Examples from the first MPE competition

 

The winners of the first MPE competition were:

 

The Sphere of the Earth by Daniel Ramos

This interactive exhibit explores the science of cartography and the geometry of the sphere.

 

Dune Ash by Prof. Dr. D. Kröner and his team at University of Freiburg

This is an interactive simulation of a volcano eruption in Europe.

 

 

The Future of Glaciers by Guillaume Jouvet, Chantal Landry, and Antonia Mey

In this exhibit, the background of glacier modelling is explained.

 

 

They were exhibited in numerous exhibitions, here is a selection of the biggest ones: